Discipline Notes

Remember Billy and the discipline notice he got on Tuesday?  Well, Billy is supposed to get the notice signed by his parents and return it the next day.  But he didn’t.  Today he brings it in, but it’s signed. . . in pencil . . . with no capital letters.  Hmmmm, do I look stupid?  I think his mom’s name is even spelled wrong.  Billy, Billy, Billy.  Now I have to call mom, and not only tell her that Billy received a discipline not 2 days ago, but that he tried to forge his mother’s signature and turn it in.  Mom is not going to be happy.

I give Billy the choice; I can call mom right now in class and tell her, or he can.  I figure he would much rather have me tell mom, but he does the bigger thing and decides that he will tell her.  That takes guts!  It turns out mom wasn’t happy, and seemed very supportive when I got on the phone with her after her and Billy talked.  She assured me Billy would be punished at home for what he did.  It’s nice to know some students get real consequences at home for bad choices they make at school.  For a lot of students, missing a recess for bad behavior is something they have learned to live with and accept it as the price to pay.

Leave a comment

Filed under Students

Leave a Reply

