It’s Already Started

It’s day 5, and already I’ve had to call Robbie’s mom during class.  Robbie can’t seem to follow directions.  I had to write his name on his paper, and the date.  The next thing Robbie was supposed to do is write his name (we’re working on a BioPoem, about each student).  He was too distracted even to do that.  You can imagine how well that went over with me after I had to write his name and had given him a talk about staying on task and doing his work.

Calling his mom didn’t make him real happy.  It even took that smile off his face for once.  Too bad mom wasn’t there.  We left a message.  When he spoke on the phone, he spoke in Spanish.  I’m not sure if mom doesn’t speak English, or he just doesn’t want me to know what he’s saying on the machine.  What are the chances mom shows up to Back to School night tonight?  If she does, I can’t wait to talk with her!

I think it’s going to be a long year.

Leave a comment

Filed under behavior, classroom, parents, teacher

Leave a Reply

