Crying in Class

I have a boy, we’ll call him Tomas, who, after 8 days in class, has cried 3 times.  He acts like he doesn’t care when he gets in trouble.  He acts like my discipline just roles off his back.   But when I try to get him to care about making wrong choices, he cries, like I hurt his feelings.

It’s frustrating, because usually criers act crushed when they receive discipline.  But not Tomas.  When he has to turn a pin, he gives me a look like, “You can make me turn your pin, but I don’t care, and I’m not going to change.”  When I talk to him about showing repentance, showing that he is sorry, he doesn’t care.  But when he continues to act that way, and he get’s in trouble, he cries.  Then I really feel I’ve lost him.  His looks change to, “I’m not going to do anything for you.”

To be honest, he usually stops crying soon, and I think all is forgiven, but I just don’t know.

Leave a comment

Filed under behavior, Students, teacher

Leave a Reply

