Homework Meetings

Jenny’s mom insists on them once a month, just so she can see what’s coming up.  My school uses it as a chance to see what’s going on with her, and to see what she’s worrying about.  It’s rarely about homework, though I come prepared with what I’ll be covering for the next month.  I think I was only asked once about it so far.

Jenny’s mom want to make sure Jenny’s aide reads the homework paragraph for Jenny before Jenny goes home.  If there is enough time, that is.  Mom wants to make sure the math is explained.

Funny, Jenny’s best subject is math.  I would think mom would want to make sure the language arts is explained.  But apparently Jenny gets frustrated easily when she’s reading the paragraph for homework.  Well, you know what?  Jenny, even with her autism, reads a lot better than at least a third of my students.

In a couple of weeks we have our second big I.E.P. with her parents and all the lawyers, and all the district personnel that comes with.  I know our speech teacher is already losing sleep because of it.  It will take about 4 hours.  I have to have an all-day sub so I can attend.  The RSP teacher is also getting stressed about it.  The pressure is more on them, so I’m less worried.

Don’t worry.  I’ll be plenty worried when the time comes.

Leave a comment

Filed under classroom, parents, teacher

Leave a Reply

