The Writing Test

The test came today.  I picked it up from the vice principal’s office first thing this morning.  You have to count your tests to make sure you have one for all your students, then initial to indicate you received the same amount of tests that they say you did.  The first thing I did after picking them up was to look inside one of them and see what genre of writing it was.  Let’s just say I was happy (I’m not allowed to say what the writing genre was).

Our test directions (they call them the DFA’s – Directions for Administration) tell us exactly what we can and can’t say to the class.  We have a direct script that we need to read.

I think I was more nervous this morning then the students, especially before I got to school and saw the writing prompt.  Some of the writing genres are so difficult, especially the ones where the students have to read a passage and either write a summary about it or respond to it.

A lot of my students struggle with reading, and if they have to read something BEFORE they write about it, just makes the test that much more difficult.  It’s almost like it’s a reading AND writing test.  Which would be okay, but the reading test comes later in the year.  This is just supposed to be a writing test.  That is also why I wish we could read the writing prompt.  It’s not very long, but believe it our not, some of my students have trouble reading it.  I don’t understand why a teacher just can’t read the writing prompt to the students.   That way the students can be clear on what they are supposed to write, and they don’t get penalized because they aren’t good readers.

But don’t get me started.

1 Comment

Filed under activities, classroom, Students, teacher

One response to “The Writing Test

  1. Ugh. Old MacDonald had a farm. E. O. E. O. I.

Leave a Reply

