C Hates His Old Teacher

And I know why.  I feel like I constantly have to keep my eyes on him.  And I feel like I’m continually calling his name.  I’m trying to explain to him that I don’t want to pick on him, but when I see him doing someting wrong, I have to get him to stop.

C tends to get pouty.  When I need him to turn a pin for something, he gets this look on his face.  He seems real angry.  He doesn’t act angry, but he looks it.  And he won’t listen to me after that.  Not for a bit, anyhway.  And he won’t look at me either.

It’s like he’s mad at me for picking on him.  I try to tell him that I’m only calling him out because he’s doing something wrong.  And trust me, I’m trying to give him lots of warning.  But he just doesn’t learn.

The other day I saw him out of the corner of my eye.  It looked like he was tossing something at the girl across from him.  But she wasn’t complaining, so I ignored the behavior, hoping it would stop.  But it didn’t.  He kept doing it, and a few seconds later I heard him say, “Got ya!”

I can’t ignore that.

So I busted him.  Had him turn his pin.  He got up all angrily.  I tried to have him stop so he would listen to me while I asked him why he was made, but he would stop, wouldn’t look at me, and wouldn’t reply to me.  So I called him back to his seat and very calmly explained to him that he’s only in trouble because of the actions he chose to do.

No change in behavior.

Leave a comment

Filed under behavior, classroom, Students

Leave a Reply

