C and His Dad

Met with C, his dad, and the principal today.  Explained to dad that C was quietly singing (but doing it so his table could hear) “The Itsy Bitsy Spider” with the hand motions.  I looked at him and got his attention, and expected the behavior to stop – which it would have for 99% of students in any grade.  But it didn’t.

So a few seconds later I had him turn a pin, and explained to him in not-a-quiet voice that I when he is obviously behaving poorly, and when I look at him, and he at me, I expect that behavior to stop.

I told his dad that C tends to pout when he gets in trouble, instead of owning up to his bad choice, and moving on with good choices.  So his dad, the principal, and I all tried to explain to him that mistakes happen, poor choices are made.  But when you get caught making them, change your behavior and move on.  Realize it is his fault for the punishment, say your sorry, and change.

That doesn’t seem to be happening.

Leave a comment

Filed under behavior, classroom, parents, teacher

Leave a Reply

